Can’t We Be Happy for One Another?!!

So, I am 27.  With that, I have a lot of friends that are married.  And even more now, I have a lot of friends that are starting to have kids.  Me?  Still single.  It could be easy for me to throw myself a pity party about how all these other people are reaching life’s milestones and I am stuck in my singleness.  However, that would be an extremely sad view to have and ultimately a sinful place to stay because it would be not trusting God’s goodness to me.  Do I not believe that God is sovereign?!  If He is (which to clarify I do believe He is) – I am not missing out on life’s milestones.  God has something else for me.

I got all worked up about it this morning because it was the perfect combination of posts and comments I was seeing on social media sites.  From Facebook to Twitter to Instagram – all morning it was other people complaining about what other people post.  I read this article on The Onion and it pushed me over the edge.  I had to write something – not sure who will read it, but at least I am getting the thoughts out of my head.

People should be free to be themseleves and post what they love.  What stirs their affections for Jesus – even if that means every Instagram a woman ever posts is of her children.  She loves them.  Adores them.  They give her joy – so she is sharing the joy with you.  If you are that upset about it, don’t follow her – but before you unfollow, could you stop and ask why it makes you so annoyed?  Couldn’t you be happy with her – smile with her at what gives her joy?  Social media is a great connector, as long as it is not our only form of connecting.  It is a way to stay up to date on someone’s life.  For my followers on Instagram, you will see a lot of pictures of my cat (and if you follow some of my close friends you will see even more).  Willow (my cat) gives me so much joy – an overwhelming amount.  She has brought feelings in me that I have never expereienced – it seriosuly is a shadow of what I think it would be like to be a mom.  I do think she is adorable and thus I post pictures of her.  I went back and looked to make sure I was posting pictures of other things, too – and sure enough, I was – but I will admit she appeared a lot.

I will be the first to admit, I am guilty of getting annoyed with some people’s posts.  I do wonder why I still follow some people – but I want to be careful that my annoyance isn’t rooted to a deeper issue of jealousy or discontentment that stems out of a lack of trust in my Father.  And maybe it isn’t that for everyone – maybe it is a lack of joy or excitement for someone else – either way, it is worth stopping and asking yourself, “Why am I having this response?!  Lord, is there something deeper going on in my heart?”

Just a thought.  Has had me thinking this morning, so wanted to share it.  For those of you that posted something a long those lines this morning, if you read this – not a passive callout.  You know we shall chat about it the next time we get a chance, as we always do 🙂

Do any of you have thoughts on this?  What is your approach?

Much love,

B

6 Comments

Filed under Thoughts

6 responses to “Can’t We Be Happy for One Another?!!

  1. Well put B. Is it possible to follow this blog on bloglovin? X

    • Thanks! I actually do not have it on there yet, but that is a great idea for me to do since Google Reader is going away. Once I make it available I will be sure to put the button on the blog so it is easy to find! Thanks for the great idea, hun! Loves. B

  2. jonathanochart

    I know how it feels, haha, I’m only 20 and lots of high school friends are getting married and having children. I just let them live and focus on what I want in my life (a career). Maybe when we’re older something will come our way (; Thanks for sharing!

    -Jonathan

  3. vogueandheels

    I agree with you! I am in a current relationship and I am very happy and I am also for everyone else wether single or taken, it doesn’t matter, it’s their life. My friends are getting married and they are starting to have a family as well so I can relate!

    -Vogue&Heels
    vogueandheels.com

    • Great post! I couldn’t agree more with everything you said. I read the article you linked to The Onion and was APPALLED – I kept thinking, this HAS to be a joke! What is happening in this world??? And about your age – 27 is a fabulous age to be, single or not. I had my first baby at 31 years old, after being married 5 years, and am soooo glad I waited. You have the right attitude – God has a perfect plan for you and will reveal it to you on His time. Thank you for being so honest and open – I’m so happy to have discovered this blog (I’m already a big fan of B.in the Know!)

      P.S. – be sure to check out my blog tomorrow for some exciting news that includes YOU 🙂

      xoxo,
      Julie

Leave a Reply

