Peace…

Earlier this summer I read The Mortification of Sin by John Owen.  It was a wonderful book in the sense that it made you come to grips with your own sin and the importance of fighting against your sin the is waging war against your soul.  However, it was not the most encouraging book you may ever read.  Though, I would highly recommend it for a believer desiring to grow in their understanding of sin – but read it with someone else so you can process through it together and remind each other of the gospel as you walk through it.

After reading that my soul was in dire need to read a book that was straight gospel.  To remind me of the saving work that Jesus Christ did on the cross for my sinful self – and to remember that I am justified at the cross.  It is finished.  So, what did I read?  The Everlasting Righteousness by Horatius Bonar.

I just finished reading this wonderful book today.  It ministered to my soul so much.  Almost every page has things underlined or starred or notes next to something.  It stirred my thoughts.  It helped me understand the gospel at a deeper level.  But most importantly, it was a shadow that pointed me back to Jesus Christ and made me fall more in love with him.  I feel like I could share so many different quotes with you, but I am just going to post one (for now at least…), and it will be from the last chapter since that is the most current on my mind…

“The life of the justified should be a peaceful one.  Being justified by faith, we have peace with God, – the God of peace, and the God of all grace.  The world’s storms have not been stilled, nor our skies brightened, nor our enemies swept away; but the peace of God has come in and taken possession of the soul.” (page 194)

I love that whole quote, but especially the third sentence.  It reminds me a lot of 2 Corinthians 4:8-9, 16-18: “We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not driven to despair; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed…So we do not lost heart.  Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day.  For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen.  For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.”  That passage in scripture and the quote both leave me smiling – even when tears may be streaming down my face as a result of the pain of this world and current circumstances – because they give me hope and remind me that one day I will be with Jesus in Heaven and that will be amazing.  And another thing that is sweet is that he knows the pain with me – I am not alone in it.  These truths give my soul peace in the middle of the storm.

Anyone else read The Everlasting Righteousness – what is one of your favorite quotes?

1 Comment

Filed under Hard to Define

One response to “Peace…

  1. 🙂 ooh, good good book and great quote! Here’s one my favorites…this page in my book fell out because I flipped there one too many times.

    “With a weak faith and a fearful heart many a sinner stands before the altar. But it is not the strength of his faith, but the perfection of the sacrifice, that saves; and no feebleness of faith, no dimness of eye, no trembling of hand, can change the efficacy of our burnt-offering. The vigor of our faith can add nothing to it, nor can the poverty of it take anything from it. Faith, in all its degrees, still reads the inscription, ‘The blood of Jesus Christ His Son cleanseth us from all sin;’ and if at times the eye is so dim that it cannot read these words, through blinding tears or bewildering mist, faith rests itself on the certain knowledge of the fact that the inscription is still there, or at least that the blood itself (of which these words remind us) remains, in all its power and suitableness, upon the altar unchanged and uneffaced.”

Leave a Reply

