Promises…

Do you ever have those moments where you know something, but then you are reading about it, thinking about it, or talking about it and something new clicks – and it is as if you are understanding it for the first time all over again?!  I love moments like that.  And yesterday, I had the privilege of having one of those moments. 

So, we all know that God makes promises and keeps them, right?  I mean I have grown up knowing that, even before I was a Christian I knew “God keeps promises – that is why there is a rainbow after the storm.”  After I became a believer almost six years ago, I learned in a new way that God keeps promises – and actually started believing that.  Yesterday I was reading in a book for my small group about the gospel for life by Tim Keller and he was talking, just briefly, about God being a keeping God – and keeping promises.  It was like a ton of bricks just hit me – God really does keep promises.  He is makes promises and He really keeps them.  That means when He says He began a good work in me and will bring it to completion on the day of Christ Jesus (Philippians 1:6) – He really will do that.  He makes broad promises, but He also makes personal promises to me.

It is funny how such a simple truth can become so sweet.  I realized I had a twisted view of promises because I live in a world that is fallen and broken.  I am used to people making promises and not following through, I mean aren’t we all?  I had become calloused, assuming the worst – but yesterday the Lord broke in to my hard heart and reminded me He will never make me a promise He is not going to keep.  Nothing extremely profound, but oh so sweet.  Thankful I can trust the Lord and the promises He gives us…

Leave a comment

Filed under Hard to Define

Leave a Reply

