Where I Belong…

I sometimes, and by sometimes I really mean often – even daily, get on these kicks where I will find a song that just does something to me – and I listen to it over and over.  I play a game I say where I see how long it takes to get in to my Top 25 Played in iTunes – but really it is because the song helps me feel a little more alive.  It is a sweet shadow of heaven for me.  It really is an indescribable feeling – maybe you know what I mean and have felt it, but for one that does not love feelings all the time this is one feeling I love and invite to come as often as it pleases.  I am not one to sit around and listen to Christian music because I think a lot of it is cheesy and does not share the same musical talent of a lot of secular artists – but my paradigm has been shifting recently.  The reality is that a song that has amazing truth in it creates an even deeper feeling than the song that just has an amazing chord progression.  The three songs (because I cannot decide which one of the three so I went with all three) that have been on repeat recently are “Where I Belong” by Cory Asbury, “Revelation Song” by Phillips, Craig and Dean, and “Lead Me to the Cross” by Brooke Fraser (HIllsong United).  These three songs help me worship my Savior more and desire to draw closer to him.  I know my faith is not about a feeling or emotional experience – but God did give us feelings and emotions and they can be used to help us feel more alive in Him and feel more intimate in our relationship with Him.  Sure, it sounds a little charismatic, but it is good for this intellectual lady to not just know God in my head, but also feel Him in my heart and soul.  I am His beloved and He is mine and that is right where I belong…

1 Comment

Filed under Devotional

One response to “Where I Belong…

  1. I too LOVE those songs and definitely got my $.99 worth playing them over and over. I’m excited that you have a blog!! I’ll definitely be a regular reader.

Leave a Reply

